G/F Foods

Are Beans Gluten-Free?

2 Comments 24 March 2010

Are Beans Gluten-Free?

There are so many reasons to include beans in your diet, and these days the price is a winning one. Having a large pot of cooked black beans around which can be easily added to rice for lunch, any meal for dinner, or even used to make black bean burgers can add an extra shot of protein to a meal in favor of extra meat. But did you know that not all beans are gluten-free?

Naturally Gluten-Free

Yes, beans are a naturally gluten-free food, but many dried varieties warn on their packaging or on their websites that the finished product may contain gluten. The reason being possible contamination during processing. Often dried beans are processed in facilities that also manufacture products with gluten-containing ingredients.

Canned is Safer

I recently bought a bag of Goya beans which I realized their website claims may be contaminated with gluten, but my can of Blue Label Black Beans is gluten-free. According to Gluten Free Living Magazine, this is because the manufacturers of canned beans typically process canned fruits and vegetables, which are also gluten-free.

There is still some argument over whether dried beans are safe, and whether dried beans can simply be rinsed, but for the sake of my health, I know that I’m sticking with canned.

- who has written 101 posts on Gluten Free Fox.

When Kristen and Taylor created The Gluten-Free Search Engine years ago, they never dreamed that just a few years later they would be sharing their lives with a beautiful, gluten-allergic dog named Waylon. Not too long after adopting their new "dog child," they headed closer to home and found themselves in the mountains of North Carolina. It was here that Kristen realized her lifelong dream of creating healthier, gluten-free beauty products and launched Gluten Free Beauty. Having shared her finds for the safest and best natural, g/f beauty products via her first-ever website, NaturallyDahling.com, she is thrilled now to be putting out products that she can enjoy and that she knows are safer than alternatives!

Contact the author

Your Comments

2 Comments so far

  1. Pam Flick says:

    I love the thought of being able to eat canned beans which are glutten free but what about the PBA which is often used in the can linings and is dangerous for everyone, not just those of us who are sensitive to Gluten. How do we know which cans have BPA and which don’t? Are you aware of a way to find out?

  2. Sharon says:

    Pam, I noticed your question wasn’t answered. If you or anyone else is still wondering about the BPA free canned beans… here’s a site that may help…

    http://www.treehugger.com/green-food/7-companies-you-can-trust-to-use-bpa-free-cans.html


Share your view

Post a comment

© 2014 Gluten Free Fox .